press dispensary press release writing, press release distribution

The Big Chill Goa

2007-03-30


April 14-15 at Aswem Beach, Morjim, Goa, India


March 30, 2007, Press Dispensary. For those seeking a hotter alternative to the events of British springtime, The Big Chill Goa (http://www.bigchillindia.in) is a two-day festival combining music, art, and relaxation, creating a paradise on the shores of the Arabian Sea. With a line up including Coldcut, The Bays, Norman Jay and a bevy of contemporary artists, the festival takes place at Goa's Aswem Beach, Morjim, on Saturday 14 and Sunday 15 April, 2007.

Goa has become a fashionable destination once again - but for very different reasons to its hippie and dance music reputations of old. Now, the long stretches of quiet, sandy beaches and warm sapphire seas, together with the delicious food and laid-back vibes, are attracting independent travellers of all ages.

Situated further north from the main Goan tourist spots is the remote yet easily accessible Aswem beach. With its heavily shaded coconut grove, the site makes a perfect setting for a chilled music event. In a drive supported by the Indian Government’s Tourist Ministry, this is where The Big Chill comes in…

The Big Chill has been a mainstay of the festival scene since the mid-1990s, and has produced events worldwide in Australia, Egypt, Poland, Greece, and each summer in the UK, currently at Eastnor Castle Deer Park in Herefordshire. This is the first time such an individual blend of electronica and traditional music, art and relaxation is going to India.

Three music performance areas will host the best dance and chill-out live performers and DJs from The Big Chill's family of artists, introducing an Indian audience to the leftfield festival experience that fans in the UK have enjoyed for over a decade. In line with local culture, The 'Body & Soul' area will offer a range of treatments, drawing on India's long standing traditions of hands-on healing, and 'The Art Trail' will showcase local and global artists working in a variety of media.

Says co-founder, Pete Lawrence: “Goa is truly back on the traveller's agenda now, and the ongoing expansion is being carried out much more thoughtfully. With natural, untainted beauty uppermost in my mind when selecting venues for Big Chill events, the Morjim area and Aswem beaches immediately struck a chord for their simple and unspoilt charms.”

Weekend tickets for The Big Chill Goa will priced at 3,000 Indian Rupees (approx £35) and will be on sale from http://www.bigchillindia.in from today. A limited number of weekend tickets priced at 1,500 Indian Rupees are available to under 21s residents in India with valid identification.

The Big Chill will donate a significant percentage of profits from the event to NGO’s working with on projects for AIDS/HIV infected and affected children in India.

- ends -

Notes for editors
LINE UP
Coldcut http://www.coldcut.net
Norman Jay http://www.normanjay.com
Jose Padilla http://www.josepadilla.info
The Bays http://www.thebays.com
Hexstatic http://www.hexstatic.tv
Tom Middleton http://www.tommiddleton.com
Sheila Chandra http://www.sheilachandra.com
Shri http://www.shri.co.uk
Mad Professor http://www.ariwa.com
Chilled By Nature http://www.chilledbynature.net
Ben Mynott http://www.myspace.com/benmynott
Eva Abraham http://www.evaabraham.com
Lol Hammond
http://www.bigchill.net/story/1516/lolhammondbiography.html
Jon Hopkins http://www.jonhopkins.co.uk
Laura B http://www.thefantasticlaurab.com
Alucidnation http://www.alucidnation.co.uk
Burt Latino and Mavis http://www.burtlatino.com
Leggo Beast http://www.bigchill.net/story/1518/leggobeastbiography.html
Mixmaster Morris http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mixmaster_Morris
Nick Luscombe http://www.myspace.com/nickluscombe
Bam Bam http://www.bigchill.net/story/1436/bambam.html
Pathaan http://www.pathaan.com
DJ Yam http://www.bigchill.net/story/932/yamyambahamamamayama.html
Biggabush http://www.biggabush.co.uk
Mr Tom plus Comperes: AJ & Nettie
VJs Muffled Visions, Grainy, Habibajeffe, Myogenic, The Ombudsman, Amukidi
More names to added - including some great performers from India.

* Access to the event will be via ticket confirmation printout and photo ID, so travellers do not have to worry about taking delivery of printed tickets. There will also be some ticket outlets in India - details of these to follow soon. The event is not a camping festival. Goa offers all kinds of accommodation, from luxurious hotels to basic beach huts.

For further information, please contact:
Sam Pow, The Big Chill
Tel: 020 7684 2013 / 07957 231314
Email:
Site: www.bigchill.net

Media contacts

Sam Pow
Tel: 020 7684 2013 / 07957 231314
Email:
Site: www.bigchill.net

Short permalink: